top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSara Caywood

To All The Clothes I Loved Before

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

Clothes are constantly ripped, torn, worn and spilled on. I couldn't count the number of times I came home with a broken bodysuit strap, a multi-colored drink stain or just straight up dirt if I tried. In college, clothes simply don’t last as long as they should. By the end of every semester, I usually find myself running around campus trying to locate half of my wardrobe. From these experiences, I’ve quickly come to realize that spending $75 on a shirt isn’t worth the money during these four years in school. Instead, I remember these mantras whenever I commence my retail therapy.


To all of the expensive shirts we think we need...

Think again. Instead of buying an overpriced shirt to wear in the high-risk of damage college environment, try to focus on a couple of cute tops from Forever21 or Shein. They might not last until post-grad, or even until the next school year, but these sites have clothes suitable for a college wardrobe and a college budget. Shein, for example, has the perfect shirts for going out with friends and the perfect cozy jackets to wear around campus for as inexpensive as $7. Also, Shein constantly posts sales and giveaways, like the one below, on their Instagram account @sheinofficial. Be prepared, though - Shein delivery usually takes 10-14 days, so plan ahead if you have an occasion in mind!




To all pf those clothes we just can’t live without...

Try using the Honey plug-in on Google Chrome. While buying inexpensive, lower quality clothes that only last a few semesters is always a great way to stay on budget, sometimes I see a dress or sweater that I HAVE to have. With my luck, that dress or sweater typically costs enough to make my debit card tear up. However, I never say no to my impulse purchases right away. After installing this plug-in, I rarely pay full price for anything I buy online. Some websites have greater savings that others, but Honey will do all the research for you to help you keep your sanity and your debit balance out of the negatives.


To install Honey, check out this tutorial:




To save even more...

I’m calling all college students to make an account with UNiDays. Just by creating an account with your “.edu” email address, you will receive student discounts from countless popular clothing stores. I’ve also used UNiDAYS to pay the student rate for Apple Music and Spotify Premium. So use that second email like it's your job, and start saving!


To ensure you never pay more than you need for clothes...

Always remember to ask cashiers at clothing stores if they offer a student discount. Some stores, like J-Crew and Madewell are sneaky and don’t flaunt their student discount the way they flaunt their $120 black booties. But, if you flash that student ID at checkout, get a tissue ready for the tears of joy that will come as you watch 15% come off of your total.


To ensure those same clothes don’t get ruined right away...

Try to avoid drying them in the University provided dryers. I’ve had many pairs of sweatpants chewed up like dog toys and dozens of bodysuits ripped to shreds. Before moving to adult apartments with adult quality appliances, it’s safe to say that hanging clothes to dry is always the safe bet.


To keep your cool...

When a sudden date night or business-professional school event pops up on your calendar quicker than you hoped, always remember to borrow from a friend. These unforeseen situations often leave us vulnerable, stressed and tempted to buy the first thing we see just to ease the pressure off. However, by taking a deep breath and texting a few friends you will save yourself the heartache of spending $100 on a pantsuit that will sit in your closet collecting dust.


To those who finished reading…


Happy shopping!





32 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page